LSAT and Law School Admissions Forum

Get expert LSAT preparation and law school admissions advice from PowerScore Test Preparation.

General questions relating to law school or law school admissions.
 katyrose323
|
Hi there—I'm looking for a little more clarity around requesting transcripts since I'm still a bit confused even after reading the LSAC guidelines! I'm wondering if I need to/should request my study abroad transcript and transcripts for other one-off courses I have taken. I think in my case I should request the study abroad transcript, but don't know if it's necessary for the other courses.

Here are my details:

-I studied abroad for one semester through a US university that was not my main undergrad institution. My study abroad credits appear as "transfer" credits on my undergrad transcript, and grades are not listed.
- I took one short summer course abroad through a separate international organization/school (this was during undergrad)
-I recently took two graduate-level courses through a US college (taken while working, and grades are pass/fail so wouldn't add much)

Of these, which do I need to request transcripts for through CAS? (I also understand that different schools may have different requirements.)

Thank you!
 Dave Killoran
PowerScore Staff
  • PowerScore Staff
|
Hi Katy,

Usually, if you are uncertain, the best path is to request the transcripts! Also, LSAC is the organization that has the final authority on all decisions here, so I can't overstate how it important it is to get their advisement on these questions :-D That said, I suspect the following:

• International: Since this was via a US overseas program and appears on your transcript, these do not need to be requested separately. Plus, it was only a semester, so that's a second count against having to get them sent separately since the rule is one year of course work or more.

Short summer abroad course: Again, less than a year in full work suggests this isn't needed.