LSAT and Law School Admissions Forum

Get expert LSAT preparation and law school admissions advice from PowerScore Test Preparation.

General questions relating to law school or law school admissions.
 Jtables01
|
Hello,

I’m an MBA student completing my degree this spring. My graduate school GPA is much better than my undergraduate GPA, 4.0 to 3.3. If I have an LSAT or GRE that’s in the 95th percentile will that be enough for admission to a top 10 school?

I’m not sure the level of consideration that is given to graduate course work. I’d like it to be an advantage, but I’m unsure if this is the case.
 Dave Killoran
PowerScore Staff
  • PowerScore Staff
|
Jtables01 wrote: Sun Mar 21, 2021 1:21 pm Hello,

I’m an MBA student completing my degree this spring. My graduate school GPA is much better than my undergraduate GPA, 4.0 to 3.3. If I have an LSAT or GRE that’s in the 95th percentile will that be enough for admission to a top 10 school?

I’m not sure the level of consideration that is given to graduate course work. I’d like it to be an advantage, but I’m unsure if this is the case.
Hi Jtables,

This is a topic I've talked about a lot on our LSAT podcast and on our blog. While a solid graduate school GPA is a plus, it's not at all decisive, for several reasons:

1. Undergraduate GPAs are used for the ABA reporting, and thus for rankings. Grad GPAs are not.
2. Not everyone has a graduate GPA, so it's not a universal comparison whereas uGPA is.
3. It's a widely accepted fact that grad school grades are inflated, and thus a high grad GPA is expected. This diminishes its value.

So, it's good to have, but it won't overcome that lower uGPA.