LSAT and Law School Admissions Forum

Get expert LSAT preparation and law school admissions advice from PowerScore Test Preparation.

donger
|
Dear Powerscore,

I'm a student who's purchased the Powerscore LR and LG Bibles and took 10 hours of Powerscore tutoring.

I had a question about answer choice B in the relevant question and did not understand how that answer choice weakens the argument. When I first read the stimulus, my head automatically scanned through answer choices for one of the 5 Cause and Effect weakening scenarios (i.e. find alternate causes). I looked to eliminate answer choices that showed that there was an increase in the number of claims for reasons other than self-serving motivations. That way I eliminated several answers.

I eliminated C because I thought that if C was true, then that would mean that the workers who filed claims in the stimulus actually did suffer injuries and thus had reasons that were not purely self-serving. I thought this was in line with the nature of Third Family question types.

B, on the other hand, does not explain the sharp increase in number of claims. If employees were dismissed once the claims were filed, then the claims have already been filed and do not contribute to a sharp increase in claims filed AFTER the factory closed.

The length of my post may have given it away but I have a tough time understanding this question. Please help!

Donger
 Adam Tyson
PowerScore Staff
  • PowerScore Staff
|
Hey Donger, another good question here. Your analysis looks pretty good - you correctly identified this as a weaken-except question, and you also correctly looked for the classic cause and effect answer choices in order to eliminate them. If an answer gives an alternate cause (other than the desire to gain undeserved benefits that the author imputes to those who filed claims after the factory closed), then it weakens and is an incorrect answer.