LSAT and Law School Admissions Forum

Get expert LSAT preparation and law school admissions advice from PowerScore Test Preparation.

General questions relating to the LSAT Logic Games.
 ArizonaRobin
|
Hi Dave and Jon,

First, thank you for all the work that you and especially for the free help you give here and on your podcast. I appreciate this! I am a student who owns the Bibles and also have done the advanced classes online (recorded) for LR and LG. I also have worked through the LSAT game type training. All of this work has gotten me pretty far on the LG section. However, I notice that my strength is definitely the linear games. I find that I can easily manage linear games even if they have advanced features or include some grouping components. However, I find that with pure grouping games, I simply take more time. I am not able to "see" the layout in my head as easily as I can with linear games.

I don't use the 8:45 timing per game to evaluate how I'm doing. Rather, I look to see the time I take as # of questions plus X minutes. For example, on the linear games, I can go # of Q's + 0 to # of Q's + 2 minutes pretty consistently. So on a 6 question linear game, I'll typically take 6-8 minutes. If I get an LG section with all linear games, I am going to feel like I won the lottery! On grouping games, however, I tend to take # of Q's + 3-4 minutes. This is survivable if I have 2 or fewer grouping games on the LG section. But if I get 3 or 4 grouping games, this puts me over time. What is your suggestion to improve my speed on these? Should I just continue to redo grouping games to practice (that's my current plan)? OR do you have any suggestions for a more targeted approach?
 Jeremy Press
PowerScore Staff
  • PowerScore Staff
|
Hi Arizona,

Good question, and something that most students will struggle with at some point in their quest to get better at Grouping games! Here are a few general tips: