LSAT and Law School Admissions Forum

Get expert LSAT preparation and law school admissions advice from PowerScore Test Preparation.

SherryZ
|
HI there! Thank you for your time!

June 2001 LSAT, Sec 2 LR, Q11:

This is, again, a weaken question, which I am not good at :(

I chose B but the right answer is C. Could you explain why C can weaken but B cannot?

Also, could you tell me how to confront this type of question? What is your pre-phrase?

Thank you very much!

Sincerely,
Sherry
 Adam Tyson
PowerScore Staff
  • PowerScore Staff
|
Sherry,

I'm confused - are you asking about Question 11, or about Question 25? It just so happens that they are both weaken questions, and the correct answer for both is answer C, so I couldn't be sure which one you were looking at! Please clarify, and then we'll see what we can do.
 Adam Tyson
PowerScore Staff
  • PowerScore Staff
|
Ah, okay - I took another look and saw that Steve already answered you about Q11 in another post, so it must be Q25 you are asking about here.

In this question, the author tells us that wood burning stoves are "more dangerous" than open fireplaces. He then tells us about creosote deposits - wood burning stoves deposit more creosote than open fireplaces, and creosote is dangerous because it can clog a chimney and even cause a fire inside the chimney. That does sound dangerous!

To weaken this argument, we again need to identify and focus on the conclusion. That's in the opening sentence - he is trying to prove that wood burning stoves are more dangerous. Our prephrase could be as simple as "no they aren't", but since he did tell us one way that makes the stoves more dangerous, we might have a more powerful prephrase if we were to say "in some other way, fireplaces are more dangerous". Anything that shows fireplaces to be more dangerous than wood stoves will weaken the argument presented by the author here.