LSAT and Law School Admissions Forum

Get expert LSAT preparation and law school admissions advice from PowerScore Test Preparation.

Administrator
PowerScore Staff
  • PowerScore Staff
|
Please post your questions below!
 theamazingrace
|
Hi, I am stuck between the correct answer choice and answer choice E. I thought answer choice E was correct because it makes sense in my head to say: if someone claims to NOT be afraid of scientists, then they are NOT actually afraid of scientists.

Thanks!
 KelseyWoods
PowerScore Staff
  • PowerScore Staff
|
Hi Chizobao!

This an Assumption question, which means we are looking for an answer choice that is necessary for the argument. Our first step is to clearly understand the argument by identifying the conclusion and the premises.

Conclusion: The claim from some pundits that the public is afraid of scientists is untrue.
Premise: I have been a scientist for several decades and I have never met anyone who was afraid of scientists.

In the answer choices, we're looking for something that is necessary for the claim that the public is afraid of scientists to be untrue based on the fact that this single scientist has never met anyone who is afraid of scientists.

Answer choice (D) is a Supporter Assumption linking the premise to the conclusion. It states that if the public was afraid of scientists, then a scientist would encounter at least one person who was afraid of scientists. Via the contrapositive, since our scientist has not encountered anyone who was afraid of scientists, then the public is not afraid of scientists.