to the top

Setup and Rule Diagrams

Administrator
PowerScore Staff
PowerScore Staff
 
Posts: 6670
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 4:19 pm
Points: 3,343

Please post your questions below!
ava17
LSAT Apprentice
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 4:09 pm
Points: 17

Hi,

For the second rule for this question, how do we know whether it is Q --> QG or G --> GQ?

Thanks!
Adam Tyson
PowerScore Staff
PowerScore Staff
 
Posts: 2587
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2011 5:01 pm
Points: 2,401

Thanks for the question, ava17! The key there lies in the previous rule, in my opinion - there is only one G in the game. If that's the case, then combining that info with the rule you are asking about, we can be sure that wherever that one G sits in the order, there is a Q right before it, but we cannot be assured that every Q has a G right after it because there might be two Qs in the game. Something has to go twice, right? If there could be two Qs, then there is no way that they could each be followed immediately by a G, because then there would be two Gs as well. So, just given the numbers, a rule of Q :arrow: QG simply doesn't make sense. Instead, the one G we have must be the sufficient condition: G :arrow: QG. In other words, wherever our lone G goes, a Q goes to the left of it.

Combine rules to make powerful inferences!
Adam M. Tyson
PowerScore LSAT, GRE, ACT and SAT Instructor
Follow me on Twitter at https://twitter.com/LSATadam