LSAT and Law School Admissions Forum

Get expert LSAT preparation and law school admissions advice from PowerScore Test Preparation.

General questions relating to the LSAT or LSAT preparation.
 ksikanon
|
Hi there,

Wondering if I can get some advice. I have been studying for the LSAT for basically 2 years now while working full time, and have two scores under my belt: a 153 and a 164. I studied every single day for the last 1.5ish years, and saw some major progress. I started at a 143 and made my way up to the mid-to-high 160s throughout my prep, and posted one 172. I took the July test yesterday, and despite months of mental preparation, I completely lost my cool on the games section. I honestly guessed on 7-8 questions. Despite my best efforts to maintain composure for the rest of the test, I kept thinking I'd have to cancel this score, and I'm sure it affected my performance. However, I finished every section besides the LG section, which rarely happens for me.

I am hoping to go to Georgetown or Berkeley. I have a 3.77 from a top school and great extracurriculars and work experience. I'm wondering if I should 1) cancel this score and sign up for another administration of the test, 2) cut my losses and apply with my 164, or 3) keep whatever score comes out of July because maybe, by some stroke of luck, it turned out better than I thought.

I am so disappointed in myself. It's amazing how much this test can break your spirit. Hopefully I'll get over it in a few days' time.
 Jon Denning
PowerScore Staff
  • PowerScore Staff
|
Hi ksikanon - thanks for the message, and sorry to hear that the games on yesterday's test caused you some problems! It's probably little consolation, but you're far from alone: this test was, by all accounts, an extremely difficult one and nearly everyone who took it struggled a bit more than usual.