LSAT and Law School Admissions Forum

Get expert LSAT preparation and law school admissions advice from PowerScore Test Preparation.

General questions relating to law school or law school admissions.
 Administrator
PowerScore Staff
  • PowerScore Staff
|
Below is a discussion between PowerScore CEO Dave Killoran and a student, Alessandra, regarding Alessandra's law school choice.

Alessandra: "Hi Dave thank you so much for your kind comments to everyone’s questions.
I have a bit of an odd decision in front of me, but it started as a money vs. prestige question so I hope this is the right place for this question.
I’m a non-traditional law student (will be turning 30 in the fall) who has been working in non-profit administration & policy advocacy since graduating in 2011. My aim in going back to school now is to get access to more substantive policy work at national organizations based in NYC, D.C. etc. It is fairly clear to me that to do that I need a JD.
I got into UCLA with a small scholarship, but still would need 90K in loans just to cover tuition, not taking into account COL. Given that I will have fewer earning years, and am committed to working in public interest, I’m concerned about taking on that level of debt.
I also got into Northeastern Law with a full ride. I was attracted to NUSL because of its public interest focus, health law concentration and co-op program. However I’m nervous about the employment statistics with only about 57% employment after graduation.
Northeastern is also attractive because my fiancé is moving to Boston for her graduate degree...
I also applied to public health degrees suspecting correctly that my near perfect GRE score would mean I was a more attractive candidate. I also have the option of completing an MPH for free from a prestigious institution and reapplying to law school again in two years with better scores/credentials.