Complete Question Explanation
(The complete setup for this game can be found here: viewtopic.php?t=16021)
The correct answer choice is (B)
This is the first question to address the “honors” subgroup established in the initial conditions of the game. The conditions in the question stem establish the following 2-3-2 fixed numerical distribution setup:
Since table 1 can only have one sponsor from the honors subgroup, answer choice (A) can be eliminated. Conversely, answer choices (C), (D), and (E) can be eliminated since table 1 must have exactly one sponsor from the honors subgroup, and none of these answer choices meet that criterion. Alternately, answer choices (D) and (E) can be eliminated since they contain two sponsors from the P, Q, and Z group that must supply table 3 with two sponsors. By process of elimination, answer choice (B) is proven correct.
#6 - Local, Could Be True, List
4 posts • Page 1 of 1
Hello, I'm going back and reviewing some of the material from the Online course. This is the only question that I still can't seem to understand. I have a feeling that I am misinterpreting the question stem. Why can the correct answer not be A? I understand that answer choices C, D and E cannot occur or they would violate some rules of the game.
However, I don't quite comprehend how we reach the conclusion that table 1 can have ONLY ONE sponsor from the honor group. The stem just tells us that table 2 needs to have three sponsors and two of those must be honors. Does this not leave the possibility for the following set up:
Table 1: K, M
Table 2: L, V, Z
Table 3: P, Q
Assuming that what I wrote above is possible, therefore, answer choice A could be correct.
Thank you for your time.
The Honors sponsors are KLM, and according to the question you need 2 of those folks to be at Table 2. In your example you only have one of of them (L) at Table 2. To put that another way, for answer A if you put 2 of the 3 honors folks at Table 1 you would only have one left over to put at Table 2 and that violates the info that is presented in the question.
Hope that helps!
Thanks, I completely forgot that V is not an honor when I was doing this problem. Because V always has to be grouped with L which is an honor, for some reason in my head I mistakenly believed V was an honor as well. I forgot the rules told us that only M, L and K are the honors. Nothing about V is stated just that it has to go with L.
Okay that explains it, thank you!
4 posts • Page 1 of 1