LSAT and Law School Admissions Forum

Get expert LSAT preparation and law school admissions advice from PowerScore Test Preparation.

General questions relating to the LSAT or LSAT preparation.
 hlee18
|
Hello!

I am a Chemistry PhD student preparing for the July LSAT. I've been preparing for the exam since January, finishing the 3 Powerscore bible series around March (full time graduate student so was only spending ~15 - 20 hrs/week but now more like 20 - 30 hrs/week). My goal is to achieve a 175.

I would appreciate some guidance on the best way to get to my goal by July, or in worst case scenario, by September of this year.

I have been doing completely untimed preptests/book problems until April, which is when I started doing timed sections and timed 2 sections (2 sections timed without break). No full timed LSAT yet. The reasons are below.

The highest untimed preptest was SuperPrep II Preptest C, which was 170. I would say that approximately 3 other preptests were taken untimed. But, as I transitioned into timing the preptests (timed 2 sections), my score fell down to around 156! This was not an anomaly; taking 3 preptests that were recently published confirmed this. Basically, I've used up 6 preptests so far.

Since then, I have been blind reviewing the preptests that I took, making a daily quiz sheet with LG, LR, and RC questions that I got wrong, and just began to fall back to untimed exams. But I don't know whether I should just continue doing the timed exams and power through them with blind review afterwards or solely dedicate myself to untimed exams until my score comes back up.

The plan going forward is for me to see how long it takes for me to achieve ~90% accuracy on every section untimed, and slowly inch my way to average ~90% while maintaining 35 minutes per section. But, I fear that this could take a really long time and cut into simulating the full timed practices.